Huw Lewis Jones - polar- historiker

Huw Lewis Jones

Huw ist Historiker für Entdeckungsgeschichte, Kultur, Fotografie und Umwelt mit Abschluss an der Universität von Cambridge. Huw ist Autor von mehreren mit Preisen ausgezeichneten Büchern- aber fühlt sich in der Natur am wohlsten. Als Kurator arbeitete er im Scott Polar Research Institute und im Nationalen Marinemuseum in London. Zu seinen Büchern zählen In Search of the South Pole, The Crossing of Antarctica, Ocean Portraits, The Conquest of Everest, Gewinner des Geschichtspreises des Banff Mountain Festival, Across the Arctic Ocean, sowie Explorers’ Sketchbooks, einer Kunstgeschichte. Seine Bücher wurden in 14 Sprachen übersetzt.

Als erfahrener Polarreisender war Huw sowohl in der Arktis als auch Antarktis unterwegs, vom Rossmeer und dem Südpolarmeer bis nach Sibirien, Grönland und dem Nordpol. Seine Forschungsinteressen sind breit gefächert: von Admiral Nelson und Kapitän Cook über die Walfanggeschichte und das Entdeckerzeitalter bis zu den ersten Fotografieanfängen und der Inuitkunst. Zurück in England ist Huw als Historiker und Kulturkommentator oft Gast in Fernseh- und Radiosendungen wie z.B. für die BBC Serien Wilderness Explored, Of Ice and Men, Antarctica’s Forgotten Hero, Battle for the Himalayas sowie vor kurzem für das PBS Nova Special Franklin’s Lost Ships.

Wenn er sich nicht in den Archiven vergräbt, plant Huw echten Expeditionen zu schwer zugänglichen Gebieten! Nächstes Jahr möchte er mit einem Yak durch Tibet reiten und durch die Magellanstrasse schwimmen- auch wenn er mehr Zeit zu Hause verbringen sollte. Huw ist mit Kari verheiratet, der Tochter des Entdeckers Sir Wally Herbert- und zusammen teilen sie die Liebe zu den entfernten Gegenden unserer Erde.

iaato authentic pbi aeco

Neuigkeiten, Tipps und Angebote

Dr. Huw Lewis-Jones - historian

Dr. Huw Lewis-Jones

Huw is a historian of exploration, culture, photography and the environment, with a PhD from the University of Cambridge. He is the author of award-winning books but is happiest when out in wild nature. Huw was Curator at the Scott Polar Research Institute and the National Maritime Museum in London. His books include In Search of the South Pole, The Crossing of Antarctica, Ocean Portraits, The Conquest of Everest, winner of the History Award at the Banff Mountain Festival, Across the Arctic Ocean, and Explorers’ Sketchbooks, an art history of discovery and adventure. His books now have been published in 14 languages.

As an experienced polar guide, over the last decade Huw has wandered on both sides of Antarctica and in the Arctic, from the Ross Sea and the Southern Ocean, to Siberia, Greenland and the North Pole. His research interests are equally wide-ranging, from Admiral Nelson and Captain Cook, through whaling and Heroic Age expeditions, to pioneering photography and even Inuit Art. Back in Britain, Huw regularly appears on television and radio as a historian and cultural commentator, in the BBC documentaries Wilderness Explored, Of Ice and Men, Antarctica’s Forgotten Hero, Battle for the Himalayas, and most recently the PBS Nova special Franklin’s Lost Ships.

When not deep in the archives, Huw guides real expeditions to difficult places. He has plans next year to ride a yak across Tibet and swim the Strait of Magellan, though he knows he ought to spend more time at home. Huw is married to Kari, the daughter of explorer Sir Wally Herbert, and she shares his love of remote environments.

iaato authentic pbi aeco

Latest news, tips and deals